Between the Woofs – I: IADW 2013


So, this is International Assistance Dog Week (IADW), and I’m promoting it! Please do visit their website.

A new “Woof” is being trained for me and may be ready (fingers crossed that it doesn’t “wash out” – always a risk) sometime next summer.

“Why would a dog be removed from PAALS training program?

“A dog can be discharged from the program at anytime during the two-year period it’s being trained for any of the following reasons:

  • “Hip and elbows X-rays show that the dog may not be strong enough for a working role
  • “Temperament problems demonstrate that a dog is too shy, too aggressive, or too protective
  • “Skin allergies develop which can be too big a problem to be handled by a person with a disability
  • “The dog has difficulties with the stress of the kennel or public work.”

from: http://paals.org/frequently-asked-questions

Golden Retriever Service Dog

Golden Retriever Service Dog

The only thing I know about the Woof is that it will be a Golden Retriever. In the meantime, I’m gearing up learning as much additional info as I can about dogs in general, assistance dogs in particular, training of dogs, feeding, grooming – etc.

Another place to visit would be the Working Like Dogs website. They have several resources and informational articles that any dog-lover will enjoy.

Right After Her October Grooming

Right After Her October Grooming

As I think about a new Woof, I also think about Emmy – OF COURSE! I did a lot of things right with her, but I recognize that I also did a number of things wrong. I have to do fewer things wrong with the new Woof, so I’m “practicing in my mind” the things I should do or not do in the future.

I’ll be posting irregularly – as usual – over the next year. Please subscribe or at least check in every so often to see the new posts. Some will be longer than this, some shorter with just a reference (or three) to other websites.

mixed-smiley-046Another request – please support PAALS! They work so hard, and are so dedicated to the provision of trained service dogs to people who need them – Service Dogs for Mobility Challenges, Service Dogs for Autism, Service Dogs for Facilities, Skilled Home Companions, and Service Dogs for PTSD or Traumatic Stress Disorder. Do explore their website – and Please donate-smallest!!!

Related articles

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Barbie Rench
    Aug 06, 2013 @ 13:23:32

    What great news!! Only sorry it will take so long! Hope Emmy is doing well at your son’s home. Bless your heart. Hope that is getting easier for you. ❤ Still keeping you, Himself, Emmy, and now your new trainee and handlers in prayer.

    Heather Mattox, whose husband died recently, has applied to PAALS for a service dog. Her RA is extremely debilitating too. I was wondering if you would mind if I forwarded your post to her. She is as brave as can be, but is very much alone with this now. If you prefer, I would like to just forward the list of organizations to her. She is a MISFIT too. Love and the very best you!! Hope time flies! Barbie

    Reply

  2. shayewalsh
    Sep 30, 2013 @ 12:47:38

    Hey, I can’t find an email address. Can you email me back to ask you a question?
    –Shaye
    shayewalsh1@gmail.com

    Reply

Leave a comment