What Passes for Normal


There haven’t been many posts recently. Mainly because the Ol’ Curmudgeon hasn’t done real well since his angioplasty last February. It’s been 11 months, and he’s only now starting to do a little better. Still has muchly reduced energy. So, we’ve been into more of a “survival” mode than what passed for normal before that. He only now has begun to do a very, very little in the woodshop. He gets out of breath terribly easily. Without his help, I’ve had to do a bunch of things I had not done for a long time. These things (very light housekeeping, very light meal preps) have totally exhausted me, and I just haven’t had the energy to to all that plus review cases AND write blogposts.

Emmy has gotten very antsy – she WANTS to work, and I haven’t been “up” to doing much except reviewing each of her cues on a daily basis. I was very sick in December, and ended up not even being able to run her on the treadmill for 2 weeks. Himself had to go out of town on business, despite not being in the best of condition. He struggles to continue to support us. I struggle to support him. Mainly we struggle to support each other, and Emmy helps us in so many ways!

We went on an expedition to the grocery 2 weeks ago. Emmy was so fine! She picked up things, was friendly to little children, she kept me going, even though I’m still in recovery mode. In some kind of spiritual sense, she “shares energy” with me. I don’t know how she does it. But she does. I may be exhausted, but she keeps me going long enough to get home and put away the refrigerated and frozen items. The rest can just wait a day or so.

It’s going to be a long winter. We have been able to attend Church only once since Thanksgiving. We hope to go on the 7th of Feb for Meatfare Sunday, and once more during Great Lent. We can’t make it through the services of Cheesefare.

Emmy hasn’t been cleared (by the priests) to attend Church with us, so we let our oldest son and his family “Emmy sit.” The youngest son LOVES Emmy, and enjoys playing with her. Emmy enjoys him, so everyone is happy as a clam.

The last couple of days have been very rainy. Emmy HATES going out in the rain, so she waits until the very LAST minute before she lets me know she has GOT to go! Even then, she stands in the doorway, going from one foot to the other, before she finally steels herself, rushes out into the yard, accomplishes the task(s) at hand VERY rapidly, and rushes back. I swear, she tries to “walk on water” across the patio and the yard!

In the next week, I’ll have some new pics and events to report, so maybe I’ll be back in the “swing of things” before long!

Leave a Reply

