Reorganizing, Reconstructing, Recreating


Exhausting several weeks. FINALLY, the Ol’ Curmudgeon is feeling better. The down side of that is – he wants to reorganize the entire house!!

Emmy is confused. Because some doors into “forbidden” areas are left open while we work, Emmy is confined to her kennel for a couple hours a day (in about 30 minute intervals). I’m just sitting in a chair telling the Ol’ Curmudgeon what to do with items, so Emmy doesn’t have to work during these sessions. Once we can let her out, she inspects all the changes, then looks at me as if to say, “Is this the same room it was before, Mom?”

I’m being ruthless – something I seldom did in the past. And about 2/3 to 3/4 of the “things” we’ve laid hands on have left the house, so far. A few things have gone to the kiddoes, a few things are going to Quinn House, but the rest are going into the trash. The garbage men are not happy with us at the moment. We are putting “too much” trash on the curb. At least it is all bagged!

Emmy and I went several places yesterday. We gave out our cards, and hope something will come of it – opportunities to demonstrate her skills to other people. Emmy not only “flips” the dishwasher door closed, but she “flips” up the foot rest of my stairlift! Smart little girl! As I’m having a flare, now, she has even more to do than normal. She takes my shoes and socks off, pulls my slacks off, and, of course, picks things up from the floor for me. As my hands aren’t working real well today, she’s having to pick up my cane much more frequently – I can’t hang onto it! Silly hands! I used my walker yesterday. Today my wrists are “owie” – don’t know if it is “just” the flare or the result of leaning onto the walker. I think it’s the flare.

Emmy’s allergies continue to be a problem. We will be starting her on Atopica as soon as I can find a low-cost source for it. $150/month for a canine drug is a LOT much! But some of the online pet pharmacies are offering much lower prices for the generic variety, so I’ll have to see if our vet will either match their price or ok a Rx through them for the drug. Interestingly, Atopica is an immune suppressant that originally was used in – get this – Rheumatoid Arthritis!! Who knows, Emmy and I may end up on the same drug if this flare continues!!

I continue to follow the adventures of Rheumatoid Arthritis Guy. He’s amazing.

Some day I won’t be in a flare. Some day I won’t have muscle pain from fibromyalgia. I look forward to that day, but in the meantime, Emmy is taking care of me very well!

Flare or not, reorganizing the house will be ongoing for another couple of months – in about 30 minute “bites.” Sigh! When it’s over, if I survive, I will be pleased with the results.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Suzanne
    Dec 09, 2009 @ 21:50:22

    Congratulations on the de-cluttering! Emmy continues to amaze me with how she takes care of you. I’m so sorry to hear that you are in a flare and in such pain. Do take care of yourself as much as you can. Hugs and prayers as always.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

