The Brownies Love Emmy!


I had a call on Monday – a nice lady who had been trying to get in touch for several days (while we were in SC). She has a Brownie troop (6 & 7 year olds) and wanted me to come talk about Emmy and demonstrate some of the things she does for me. She wanted us to come THAT NIGHT! OMG!

I ran around getting a few things together, and got Emmy ready (wipe, give treat, clean ears, give treat, brush teeth, give treats, wipe again, give treat). Since I didn’t know exactly where I was going, I left a little early. One trip back into the house to get my directions!

We arrived early enough that I could “business” Emmy in a relaxed manner. She performed nicely.

We went in – we had help getting in and out – carrying my few things.

Now, these were very small little girls, and Emmy must have looked like the Hound of the Baskervilles to them! They kind of cringed anytime Emmy got near them. Bless their hearts. We showed off picking up things, doing laundry, and pulling off my shoes and socks.

After all that, I made an “executive decision:” I took Emmy’s cape off so the children could come up and pet her. Emmy was a champ. The leader showed them how to introduce themselves to a dog, reminded them that they should ask me if they could pet Emmy, and then how to pet her. Emmy helped by wagging her tail a LOT and licking the backs of their hands. One little girl got down on her knees and hugged Emmy. Emmy wagged even more and rubbed her head against the child – almost knocking her over and giving her a case of giggles. The only person who didn’t come to pet Emmy was a 4 year old little boy – child of one of the leaders.

They loved Emmy, and were most impressed with the kinds of things a service dog can do for people. We had a great time. One of the leaders took lots of pictures, and will send them to me soon so I can post them through Flickr.

We had fun, and were home by 8:30pm. A long day, but a good one.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Suzanne
    Apr 29, 2009 @ 14:50:53

    You’re doing a real service by showing Emmy off to various groups.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

