The Circle Dance


We have not been feeling very good, so we’ve been staying close to home for the past 6 weeks or so. Except for the foray into Jury Duty, there is nothing new going on. None of the Boy Scout, Camp Fire or Girl Scout groups can schedule Emmy and me until next “troup year,” so I’ve been calling around to set up demos at local day cares and pre-k’s. Their schedules don’t fit mine at the moment, so we are just sitting.

We work on some of her behaviors each day. She’s REALLY good at “NUDGE” and “PAWS” (flipping wall switches up and down), and her basic obedience is excellent. She’s great doing her “GET IT” behaviors (“CANE,” “CELL,” “PHONE,” and general “GET IT”).

Her new behaviors are kind of exciting for me, although she seems to take them all in stride. She can remove my shoes and socks and help me get my arm out of the sleeve of my jackets / sweaters! I started her with her known commands of “TAKE IT,” “TUG,” and “BACK,” which she uses for other behaviors. They are now known as “SHOE,” “SOCK,” and “SLEEVE.” She can’t get my lace-up shoes off, of course, but she can get my Crocs off. She is so cute when she pulls my socks off – she nibbles the end of my toes until she gets the sock in her teeth, then pulls backward. If they are tight socks, she really has to put her back into it. Then, when the sock comes off, she’s always so surprised! She looks at me as if to say, “What do I do, now, Mom?” Then she shakes it out, and brings it to me! That little “shake it out” business is just hilarious.

She does the same things when getting small wet things out of the washer, or small crumpled things out of the dryer. I always get the giggles, then she goes into her little circle-dance, wriggling her butt, wagging her tail and turning circles against my legs. I have to lean against something so she doesn’t knock me down! THAT would be a disaster!

She does the “Circle Dance” every morning and each time I have left the room and return (if she doesn’t come with me). She greets me with the “Circle Dance.” She is delighted to see me and is beside herself trying to express her joy! Gee, sometimes I wish people could be as nice as doggies!

Haven’t taught her to hold my jacket / sweater so I can get it on. That will come later. But the next item on my agenda is seeing if I can teach her to pull my jacket sleeve off my arm from the backseat in the car. You know how you get overheated in the car and really need to get out of your jacket or sweater. I just need to be sure it won’t be any more dangerous than having a passenger help me. So we’ll get in the car in the garage and try that a few times and see how it works out.

And so it goes – quiet days and evenings, early bedtimes.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mimi
    Apr 17, 2009 @ 15:44:43

    Great update, other than to hear that you’ve been ill.
    Good job, Emmy!

    Reply

  2. Suzanne
    Apr 17, 2009 @ 17:03:29

    “…quiet days and evenings, early bedtimes.” Sounds great; a wonderful interlude of life.

    Reply

  3. barryb64
    May 15, 2009 @ 21:26:28

    Emmy,

    I am enjoying reading some your stories. I’ll have to come back here and read some more. Have a blessed day!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

