Emmy – Jury Member 38 1/2


Today I was on Jury Duty. Of course, Emmy came with me.

I approached the entire experience with some trepidation – not only that it would be exhausting and pain-inducing, but that I would have to “fight” for Emmy’s right to be there and my right to have her with me.

Let not your hearts be troubled! It WAS exhausting, it WAS pain-inducing, but I did NOT have to fight, either for her rights or for mine! Everyone at the Gwinnett County Courthouse was wonderful – they could not have been nicer.

The only negative thing was when they confiscated my little Samsung camera! I really WAS going to take pictures of Emmy-on-jury-duty, but couldn’t. AND, it just didn’t occur to me to use my cell-camera until it was too late!

Then, I left without my camera! I hope that when I go back tomorrow to pick it up, that it will still be there! No, I don’t have Jury Duty tomorrow. I’ll have to call each evening this week to be sure, but should be free of the duty until next time. They fill the biggest, most important criminal trials on Mondays. The rest of the week is for the smaller, civil trials.

{{SIGH!}} That means that this forensics addict won’t even be able to sit in on a decent criminal case with all kinds of cutting-edge forensic detection methods! {{Deep SIGH!!}} {{Deeper SIGH!!!}} {{Deepest SIGH!!!!}}

Tomorrow, when I pick up the camera, I’ll get some pics and even try to get some nice people to take some pics of Emmy with me. It won’t be the “real” day, but it will be something!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hearingelmo
    Mar 31, 2009 @ 08:48:37

    I didn’t have any trouble bringing Chloe in when I had jury duty either. I think the courts have started to recognize service dogs “other” the guide dogs… Horray!

    Reply

  2. turtlemom3
    Mar 31, 2009 @ 10:27:51

    Hooray! indeed!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

