The Car is Fixed!


A few months ago, one of my young adolescent grandsons, in an excess of not recognizing and knowing his own strength, slammed the driver-side sliding door on my Grand Caravan. We never could get it open again. We drove around with only one side door available for about 8 months.

Finally, my difficulties getting Emmy in and out and her safety harness linked became the final straw. The Door Must be Fixed!

Off to a really good collision repair shop. Rick at Expert Collision took an hour of their time to give an estimate. They had to order in a special part. And it would require totally removing the latching mechanism and putting in another.

A week later, the part was in, and my time and energy level were such that I could go in. Of course Emmy went with me!

I brought her water dish and some bottled water, treats, poop bags, books for me, etc. We arrived just as they opened. Rick, the manager, greeted me with – “I told the guys to clean up the break area some because you would want some coffee!” (You see? He knows me already!) But I had brought coffee from the local BK – along with some French Toast strips to have for breakfast and then again for lunch. (Actually, I should have used their coffee! It’s much better than the burned crud that the local BK calls coffee! – my opinion, no libel / slander intended!)

I sat and read Predator by Patricia Cornwell (read the first 6 chapters) while Emmy “nested” and finally lay on her little blankie that I brought in from the car. She dreamed her little doggie dreams while I read. I love Patricia Cornwell’s Kay Scarpetta books. I have all but the newest one (Scarpetta). I’m a forensics junkie, so I really enjoy that aspect of the books – but the detection is well-done, also. I re-read her books on a regular basis – about every 18 months or so.

Three and a half hours later, and the car was done! We were home by noon! Rick was very nice and adhered to the original estimate despite the job taking longer than he had estimated.

Putting Emmy in on the driver-side was much easier on my back, and I’m very pleased about that. Emmy just jumped in without a second thought. She didn’t care if it was one side or the other. Guess she knew it was the same car. Door closed completely with little effort, and opened again just as easily! Happy-Happy! Joy-Joy!

All y’all in the Lawrencville area, if you need body work done, you might give Expert Collision a try!

Expert Collision Center

650 Old Norcross Rd
Lawrenceville, GA 30045
(770) 682-5447

Tell Rick that I  sent you!

Rick loves Emmy, and is going to suggest to his son’s Scout Troop that they ask Emmy and me to demonstrate some of her cues and behaviors for them! Yea!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Suzanne
    Mar 23, 2009 @ 15:55:48

    Hooray, Hooray!! (don’t care about the spelling)

    So cute that Emmy “nested” and “dreamed her little doggie dreams.” 🙂

    Sounds like a nice, almost restful 3 hours for you. 🙂

    Reply

  2. turtlemom3
    Mar 23, 2009 @ 17:24:54

    Weeeellll – didn’t mention how excruciatingly uncomfortable the chair was – at least it was padded – some are not!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

