Emmy’s Excellent Adventure!


The Ol’ Curmudgeon had to have a cardiac cath yesterday, so off he, Emmy and I went – all packed up in case of an overnight.

The cath went “snicker-snack” – his cardiologist is GREAT – and he was soon done. A stent had to be placed, so it did necessitate an overnight stay. Well, I SHOULD have taken pictures – but I’m not a natural photo-bug, and it just doesn’t occur to me until events are over.

Emmy even was permitted back in the Cath Lab prep area, and then in the recovery area. I had my youngest son with me (for support), but I didn’t have to ask him to “babysit” while I went back to see my darlin’ husband. No questions from any of the clinical or administrative staff, just total acceptance!

Emmy quickly became the darling of the cardiology patient floor! Everytime we walked up or down the hall, or got on or off elevators, or went in or out to go “do business,” there was a chorus following us: “Oohh! isn’t it sweet! OOooOOhh! How cute! How pretty! Isn’t her coat shiny! She is so obedient!” Many other remarks along the same line were said. We were able to enlighten many people about mobility service dogs, and I did some “micro” demos in the halls.

NOT ONCE did anyone ask why she was there, whether she should be there, nor that we should leave! NOT ONCE! They did ask what she does for me, and we showed them! Emmy lay ever so quietly out of the way on her pillow that I brought with us whenever the nurses or assistants came in to “do things” to the Ol’ Curmudgeon. She was NEVER underfoot, did not whine, or whimper (although she did her little adolescent MOan from time to time – LOL!) even once – in otherwords, she was the PERFECT service dog. Sometimes the staff didn’t even realize she was there!

Even the people who obviously were afraid of dogs were admiring!

I did entirely too much walking about, however. My back, hips, knees, ankles, and feet were – and are – MISERABLE. Having to walk to a different building for every meal was really difficult. By this morning, walking was agonizing – pain level 9/10, so I just skipped breakfast and fixed some cheese toast after we arrived back at home.

Emmy is soooo tired she isn’t even “bugging” me to feed her – and it’s past her supper time! She’s been napping as much as I have all afternoon.

By the way – for those who are interested, several days ago I found some small, plump, dog bed pillows at CVS – you know how they have weird things for sale from time to time. They were only $9.99, and I picked up one. Emmy loved it so much I went back and got 2 more! I took one with us, and she was most happy to lie on it throughout the Ol’ Curmudgeon’s ordeal. And his cardiologist was most admiring of Emmy.

So our partnered life goes on – surprisingly smoothly. Emmy simply goes wherever I go, whenever I need to go. We enjoy each other’s company, and understand each other. She is coming to recognize when I’m in serious pain, and does everything she can lighten my mood and to do things for me.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Suzanne
    Feb 26, 2009 @ 19:53:53

    That’s great, Elizabeth! What a good doggy! Super Kudos to the staff of that hospital, too. I’m so glad this ordeal is over for you and you both are home safe and resting.

    Reply

  2. turtlemom3
    Feb 26, 2009 @ 19:58:38

    Me, too!!

    Now for some good “down time” in my comfy chair!

    Reply

  3. India
    Feb 26, 2009 @ 19:59:56

    I am so glad ya’ll had such a good day together and that Emmy did so well. Hope Ted is doing okay.

    Reply

  4. Dogonwear
    Feb 26, 2009 @ 20:23:57

    Awwwww so Glad to hear your Hubby is okay,….
    and of course Emmy was purrrrrfect!!!!!

    Gena

    Reply

  5. Andreas
    Feb 26, 2009 @ 21:39:17

    I’m glad to hear that all went well for the servant and handmaiden of God! I said “extra” special prayers for all of you.

    Good to hear you’re back home. Send the Ol’ Curmudgeon my regards.

    Andreas

    Reply

  6. Tinkerbell
    Feb 27, 2009 @ 01:33:28

    I am glad everything work out for you and family. I suppose you don’t need anything sent emmy took good care of you but if you do don’t hesitate to ask take care of yourself.

    Reply

  7. Trackback: The Great USA Tea Party « Turtle Rock
  8. hearingelmo
    Feb 27, 2009 @ 12:58:10

    Emmy is doing so great. She acts like she’s been with you for years!

    Reply

  9. Jen
    Feb 28, 2009 @ 16:43:53

    This story brought me to tears! Please give Ted a kiss for me and Emmy a VERY large treat!!!!Lowfat of course! PS-Hold off on making hotel reservations for April we just got a discount deal and will be in touch soon-can’t wait to see all of you!

    Reply

  10. turtlemom3
    Mar 01, 2009 @ 11:11:25

    Hi Jen – Have made reservations, but they can simply be cancelled. Looking forward to seeing y’all, too! Emmy has grown some (not”out!”) and just looks more mature. You’ll love seeing her!

    Reply

  11. Sandra
    Mar 01, 2009 @ 22:55:53

    Hi there!! So glad to hear y’all survived the hospital! Was such a sweet story about Emmy!! Can tell she is very spoiled!! Can’t wait to see you for graduation!!!
    Sandra Gaines:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

