Bored, Bored, Bored!


This is Emmy writing this – Mom has been so busy with cases and tutoring one of her many grandsons that I haven’t had anything to DO! She gives me toys, but I want to be with HER and DOING things! I just can’t help myself – I keep going up to her and nudging her. And she keeps sending me back to my “place.”

Yesterday, her grandson got into my kennel with me and read to me for a while. Mom needed to work on a case, but her GS needed to practice reading, and I was BORED! So Mom had her GS read to me! He’s getting quite good, actually.

Here are some pictures from recent things I’ve done:

S-T-R-E-T-C-H-I-N-G so I can PROPERLY supervise Mom in the kitchen!

S-T-R-E-T-C-H-I-N-G so I can PROPERLY supervise Mom in the kitchen!

Helping Mom cook – I stay on my place and supervise. But I need to s-t-r-e-t-c-h so I can be close enough to Mom.

One of my daily duties - turning the light on!

One of my daily duties - turning the light on!

Everytime we go downstairs for me to walk on the treadmill (see 4th picture below this one) I have to turn on the light switch by “nudge”-ing it. Mom says it saves her shoulders, but she says she’s going to have to get some clear vinyl to put around the light switch! When I “paw” the light switch off, I’m scratching the paint off the wall. She says this is NOT a “good thing,” but it’s worth it to her!

Is That the Cat From Next Door?

Is That the Cat From Next Door?

I think that’s a cat, isn’t it? One of the ones from next door? No? I could have sworn I heard a cat.

I gotta find out whats in here!

I gotta find out what's in here!

I investigate the shed. Aren’t the leaves nice? I love snuffling in them – wonderful smells.

I love my Mom - I love watching her all the time!

I love my Mom - I love watching her all the time!

Mom says I have beautiful eyes. I KNOW she does!

Exercising on the treadmill - SIGH

Exercising on the treadmill - SIGH

Mom can’t walk well or far, much less run, so she can’t exercise me as much as I need. So she has taught me to walk on her treadmill! BORING! But at least it’s exercise. She gives me treats – cut up very small – so I stay interested, but it is BORING!

Last Saturday, Mom took me with her to her Red Hat meeting. These women are crazy! They seem to have fun, though. Mom told me “under” and under the table I went. I was a smart girl and a good girl. All the ladies wanted to pet me, and Mom made me “say hello” so they could. But they sure don’t follow the rules! Mom had to settle me down a few times because these ladies got me so excited!

Under the table at the Red Hat event!

Under the table at the Red Hat event!

That’s either Mom’s nightgown or peignoir – it’s PURPLE with stars, moons and hearts on it. All these ladies word their pajamas or nightgowns to the restaurant! I don’t get it, but Mom apparently fit right in. She won 2nd prize because of her earrings – and ME – they said! I was wearing a red clippie on my collar, but you can’t see it here – it kind of slipped to the side. We gave a demo, and that was fun.

Today we will go to the grocery! I’ll get lots of exercise if she gets the “zippy” cart. And I’ll get lots of practice picking things up. She is always dropping stuff! If it isn’t her cane, it’s a bottle of this or a can of that. I guess she really does need me! This makes up for the boring times!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. handmaidleah
    Nov 26, 2008 @ 10:42:12

    Sweet post. So glad you are loving your service dog – I know that I sure loved mine.
    Happy Thanksgiving to all of you 0
    Leah

    Reply

  2. hearingelmo
    Nov 26, 2008 @ 19:02:31

    Emmy, Don’t you have a great life! What a blessing you are! I know someone is very Thankful for YOU!

    DeniseP and Chloe

    Reply

  3. Suzanne
    Nov 26, 2008 @ 22:18:49

    I’m so glad you came to live with ‘Mom’!

    Reply

  4. turtlemom3
    Nov 27, 2008 @ 08:14:49

    Thank you for your comments! I hope each of you have a wonderful Thanksgiving! We’ll have to get more pictures!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

