Lessons from Emmy


I was re-reading some of the posts here, and realized there are many things that Emmy does for me that I haven’t mentioned.

One thing she does is keep my attitude positive. Each morning Emmy arises with great energy, and the attitude that today will be the best day ever. She inspires me to imitate that. I may not be able to frisk and gambol the way she does, but I can keep a cheerful attitude, and glorify God for all things every day – no matter the pain and stiffness, no matter the pervasive fatigue. I can be cheerful and grateful for the people who help me – husband, children, grandchildren, friends.

She is so trusting. She trusts that if I ask her to do something that nothing bad will happen to her if she does it. No matter her trepidation, she will try anything I ask. So I learn trust from her. I trust God more each day – trust that He will keep me from harm. And if harm comes from another’s actions, I trust that God will continue to take care of me and bring good to occur from it.

She is loving. No matter what, she loves me. Her unconditional love teaches me to love God unconditionally – and to love my husband, children, grandchildren and friends unconditionally.

There are many more things she does and will do for me over time – more lessons I will learn from her – and I will try to remember to report them here.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Suzanne
    Nov 02, 2008 @ 18:14:45

    Amen, and Amen.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

