D+8 – Edventure


Yesterday we went to Edventure. I wasn’t up to par, but it turned out ok. Jen explained what PAALS was and demonstrated some things with Rosie – a rescue that can’t be a service dog because of fear-aggression issues, so she’s a demo-dog. Then E and Em demonstrated how Aubrey will help E’s son S. Then I got up my courage and demo’d how Emmy is helping me already with picking up my cell, my keys and my cane.

On the way in and out, Emmy “targeted” the automatic handicap door opener plates for me. Such a SMART girl!

I had a few problems figuring out how to go in and out, on and off an elevator, but eventually I managed twice. That was good practice for the test. I think I’m going to suggest that they take some step-by-step pictures of elevator usage with cane and with wheelchair for helping other clients learn. It’s much more complicated than it sounds. More on that later.

We got back and had a “hamburger salad,” I cleaned her ears, checked her paws and her teeth and then just totally faded. The Ol’ Curmudgeon had to walk Emmy twice for me. This AM, he had to walk her again. She needs some more exercise, so we’ll take the ball-thrower into the hall today and use it during breaks.

Can hardly wait to get home and be able to exercise her in the yard with the ball thrower. She’s getting the idea, and is starting to bring the ball back more consistently. But today is not a day I will be able to throw balls for her myself. I’ll have to use the ball-thrower.

At the moment, Emmy is bored. Not a good condition for a working dog! I’ve told her to “settle,” and she’s lying on her “place” with my small blanket that I throw over my feet at night. I think I’ll just have to give that one to her. {{SMILE}}

Well, time for a rest before I have to get her ready for the day. I’m getting “dressing” her in her cape, gentle-leader, and seatbelt harness down to a science. Takes less time every day. This is a good thing.

Aunt D went to surgery last night for a tracheostomy so they could put her on a vent. I prayed the Akathist to the Theotokos for her healing. And specified that although I WANT her healing to be in this world, that God’s Will be done. It’s so hard to let go of control and put it into God’s hands.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Suzanne
    Sep 22, 2008 @ 09:23:56

    It sounds like Emmy is going to make your life so much easier and nicer. What an amazing thing it is to train a dog to do all those things!

    Reply

  2. risa b
    Sep 22, 2008 @ 14:44:42

    Lookin’ good, gal!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

