D+3!!! Emmy is With Us!


Emmy came to the hotel with us tonight!! She is contentedly in her wire kennel chewing on a Nylabone and a Kong. She drank water, then ate her supper. She is listening to the Ol’ Curmudgeon more carefully than she does to me, but I’M the one with the feeding scoop and the water bucket!! {{GRIN}} Since she is a “chow hound” (food motivated), she will pay most close attention to me. The Ol’ Curmudgeon is giving NO treats and NO food and NO water. All good eats and water come from me!!

She is so responsive and knows so many commands! I worked with her today in class on so many commands I can’t list them all here. There are several commands I’m not allowed to use with her until we are checked off. These are the more complicated commands – pointing at something on the floor and telling her to “get it!” and having her pick up my cane on command – will have to be checked off over the next couple of days.

Today we went to a restaurant with our dogs!!! We made quite a sight – 5 instructors, 3 new clients with assistance dogs, and one of the instructors with her assistance dog – parading into a lovely restaurant. Emmy worked beautifully – went “Under” the table (which means – go under the table, be as inconspicuous and small as possible and lie down and stay). I only had to remind her twice to remain lying down, and only had to remind her 3 times to “leave it!” when she thought she had found something tasty to eat. They are NOT permitted to eat ANYTHING off the floor anywhere – not even at home.

After getting her into the room, feeding her, waiting a while and then watering her, we had “Free Time!” She nosed her way all over the room. I guarded all the outlets and the computer cords to be sure she didn’t get into them. But she mainly just wanted to “read the newspaper” – who’s been here and what were they doing? She loves having her back scratched, and has beautifully melting brown eyes.

Have I mentioned that this is the most beautiful little bitch in the entire world??

Almost forgot – we had supper brought in by some of the volunteers and board members. They were so nice! It was served buffet style, so we each took turns and went around the table with our dogs in tow. Quite a balancing act! But I did it!

Oh my – so much more went on, and I can’t begin to think at this point. Emmy is sound asleep in her kennel-crate in a corner of the room, and I’m drifting off doing this – just had delete a couple of lines of “zzzzz.” Guess I’m tired, too!

May God bless Aunt D and Uncle O and keep them while we are gone – I hope they can see my Emmy – they have made a great deal of this possible. May God keep those affected by Hurricanes Hannah and Ike. Night all!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Suzanne
    Sep 16, 2008 @ 21:09:01

    It sounds like you and Emma are coming right along. Aren’t dogs wonderful? I love both dogs and cats, and grew up with both.

    Reply

  2. The Sagebrush Gazette
    Sep 17, 2008 @ 08:30:30

    It’s good to hear that you are doing so well with Emmy. With the Ol’ Curmudgeon’s culinary skills, it’s going to be hard to keep her out of the “treats.” Maybe he can teach her how to tune a Georgia fiddle instead. 😀 LOL!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

