Between the Woofs: Grief – Ups and Downs


Well, 3 months have passed. There are times I think the pain is getting worse rather than better. Emmy is extremely happy with her new family (does that make me jealous? I think so, at times) and her health needs are being addressed very well.

In the meantime, between the woofs, I’ve contacted the International Association of Assistance Dog Partners (IAADP) about their Assistance Dog Loss Service. I don’t want my grief over Emmy to interfere with me bonding with the new woof, do I?

My (now Their) Emmy – such a wonderful assistance dog! I have a brief slideshow that I made from some of Emmy’s pix. I watch it from time to time – not so often that I get maudlin about her, but just to refresh my memory and love for her.

Himself keeps reminding me, “She was your employee, not just your precious pet.” He is right. But the 5 1/2 years we were together were precious to me, and created a bond deeper than I, a “cat person,” ever dreamed I would or even could have with a dog. Himself has taken up many of Emmy’s tasks – and I realize just how independent I was with her. I still needed help, you understand, but SHE provided most of the help. I didn’t have to ask other people for help nearly as much as I do without her.

So, life goes on. My birthday is coming up – and we are going to Medieval Times for dinner! I’m sure I’ll think, “wouldn’t Emmy be interested in those horses!” But, we’ll just have to go to Medieval Times again [this is the original website] after the new woof comes into our lives. Maybe for my next birthday! That’s something positive to look forward to!

Meantime, here is a picture of Emmy with her little boy – just too cute! Think she fell into clover? You betcha! :-)

Emmy sleeps with the youngest boy (9). Think they adore each other?

Emmy sleeps with the youngest boy (9). Think they adore each other?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Barb Becraft Ryan
    Oct 04, 2013 @ 12:03:10

    love the update and have been kissing my dog after reading this

    Reply

  2. Barbie Rench
    Oct 04, 2013 @ 14:59:04

    I’m a little weepy for you – even though I knew this was in your heart. I felt the same way when I gave my sheltie to my daughter. I didn’t resent my daughter – but I hated the way “my” Molly took to following her around. Their relationship was more like siblings – which actually they were. Her relationship to me changed, though, and although it never got bad, my heart cried too. (((((Elizabeth))))) Yes, though . . . She fell into clover too. What a precious picture. And what a lovely thought – “clover.” That makes me feel better about my Molly too! I sure hope your new service dog will be found and brought to you soon!! Love you! <3

    Reply

  3. turtlemom3
    Oct 09, 2013 @ 11:52:12

    Thank you, Barbie!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 864 other followers

